Opening May 18: Department

New in Chicago area theaters the weekend beginning May 18, 2012, is the Hindi film Department. The political thriller from director Ram Gopal Varma stars Amitabh Bachchan and Sanjay Dutt.

Department opens on Friday at the Big Cinemas Golf Glen 5 in Niles and AMC South Barrington 30 in South Barrington. It has a runtime 2 hrs. 21 min. Read my review of Department here.

The South Barrington 30 is carrying over Vicky Donor for a fifth week, while the Golf Glen 5 gives Dangerous Ishhq a second week. The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel opens in India this weekend while also expanding into more U.S. theaters.

Other movies playing at the Golf Glen 5 this weekend include Chhota Bheem, Gabbar Singh (Telugu), Kalakalappu @ Masala Cafe (Tamil), and Love, Lies and Seeta (English).

5 thoughts on “Opening May 18: Department

  1. TS

    kathy have u seen Company , Bhoot, Darna mana hai, Rangeela, Rakhta Charitra? These are best Ram Gopal Verma Movies in my opinion n my favourite.

    Reply
    1. Kathy

      Thanks for the recommendations, TS. The only Ram Gopal Varma movies I’ve seen are Rann and Sarkar Raj. Based on those two, I’m not sure I’m an RGV fan yet. I’m hoping Department will change my mind.

      Reply
  2. TS

    Then u must watch the movies I mentioned. And u watched sarkar raj
    which is a sequel to sarkar. U should watch sarkar which is a hindi remake of the godfather. N what about Ishaqzaade review?? Is it because its running at a theatre 45 minutes away from your house? or any other reason?

    Reply
    1. Kathy

      Sarkar Raj didn’t make much sense without having seen Sarkar first (something I wish more directors would take into account). Rakht Charitra is in my Netflix queue. Ishaqzaade didn’t open in any theaters in the Chicago area, so I’ll have to wait for the DVD.

      Reply

Leave a Reply